Do You Need a Permit to Install Artificial Turf?
More cities require one than most installers assume. Nine local permit rules side by side, the few exemptions that exist, what you submit, and why a state rule or HOA approval is not a permit.
On this page
- Why do so many guides say no permit is needed?
- Which cities require a permit for artificial turf?
- What standards does the permit check?
- Does a state law or my HOA approval replace the permit?
- Who should pull the permit, you or the installer?
- Our five-trigger test
- When does this page stop applying?
- Frequently asked questions
This page is for homeowners and installers deciding whether the city must see the project first. We read the permit pages, packets and code summaries for nine local governments and Florida's state rule, and put exemptions, fees, paperwork and standards in one place.
Why do so many guides say no permit is needed?
Because turf is not a structure, building codes never mentioned it, and installer blogs still repeat that. Our own rebates, HOA and water rules page says most single-family installs need no building permit, and in towns with no turf rules that holds.
The catch is that once a city caps turf at a share of the front yard, counts it toward lot coverage or demands a PFAS-free spec sheet, it has to see a plan first. So the answer is not "usually no" but "no, unless your city's code has a turf section." Search the code for "artificial turf" and "synthetic turf" before you take anyone's word for it, including the installer's.
Which cities require a permit for artificial turf?
All nine local governments below require a permit or planning approval for at least some residential turf.
| City | Permit | Exempt | Fee | Paperwork beyond a site plan and spec sheet |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clearwater, FL | Building permit | One install of 100 sq ft or less in a side or rear yard; previously permitted patios, porches, roof decks | $200 | Edge cross-section, lead and PFAS-free proof, impervious surface worksheet, notarized agent affidavit, tree plan if trees overhang |
| Tampa, FL | Building permit | None in the June 2026 packet | Not stated | Trees within 20 ft, turf cross-section, stone receipt, signed verification statement |
| Tequesta, FL | Building permit | None stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Boynton Beach, FL | Turf permit | None stated | Not stated | Survey, utility easement consents, proof turf is made in the USA, engineer drainage plan over 1,000 sq ft |
| Rockwall, TX | Building permit | None stated | Not stated | Grading plan, fence material on every side, non-PFAS spec |
| Piney Point Village, TX | Turf permit, new or replacement | None stated | Not stated | Survey, lot coverage form, HOA approval if any, water authority approval, tree plan |
| Thornton, CO | Minor Planning Permit | None stated | On the application form | Letter of intent, material samples, PFAS-free evidence |
| Ogden, UT | Land Use Permit | None stated | Not stated | Landscape plan, manufacturer documentation |
| Los Angeles, CA | A-permit, parkway only | Listed plants in a residential parkway | Not stated | Product from the city's approved list |
Sources: Clearwater (revised September 2025), Tampa, Tequesta, Boynton Beach, Rockwall, Piney Point Village, Thornton, Ogden, Los Angeles. "Not stated" means the page we read did not give it, not that there is none. If your city is not listed, we did not read its code.
Two details are easy to miss. Clearwater says "repair or replacement of artificial turf requires a building permit," and Piney Point's permit covers "any new or replacement" turf, so the question returns when the turf wears out.
And Tampa's exemption is gone. Its March 2025 packet said "installation of under 150 sq. ft. of Artificial Turf on private property does not require a permit." The June 2026 packet, issued after Florida's state rule took effect, does not contain that line. If a Tampa installer says a small area is exempt, ask the city in writing.
What standards does the permit check?
The permit is only the gate; the standards behind it decide what you can build.
| City | Where turf may go | Product and install minimums |
|---|---|---|
| Clearwater | Not in rights-of-way, drainage swales, required buffers, parking areas, or on a seawall | Sand-based infill, no crumb rubber; seams taped and glued; barrier between turf and plants |
| Rockwall | Not in the required front yard, visible side or rear areas, rights-of-way or easements; screened rear yard unlimited; 400 sq ft of rear yard regardless of screening | Non-PFAS product |
| Thornton | Shielded rear and side yards unlimited; elsewhere max 25% of landscape area | 8-year fade warranty, backing drains 2 in/hr, 3 in compacted base holding 1/2 in of rain, glued seams |
| Ogden | Max 50% of a landscaped area, 4 ft from tree trunks, 2 ft from shrubs, not in parkstrips or drainage features | 1.5 in pile (rear-yard recreation surfaces excepted), 56 oz tufted weight, 8-year warranty, 30 in per hour, seams nailed and glued |
| Tequesta | Front yards only as a grid with approved pavement; side and rear yards concealed from the right-of-way; max 10% of required landscape area | Pile, tufted weight and permeability minimums in Sec. 78-396.5 |
Thornton's PFAS rule is stricter than most: testing "completed by the manufacturer does not satisfy this requirement," and "PFC-free" is not enough (our PFAS turf laws page covers the Colorado statute behind it). Ogden's 30 in per hour floor matches the rating our drainage rate guide gives for a typical hole-punched backing. Our guide to reading a spec sheet shows where each figure sits.
Does a state law or my HOA approval replace the permit?
No to both. Florida is the test case. Statute 125.572 bars a local government from prohibiting turf that meets state standards on single-family lots of 1 acre or less, and from enforcing rules "inconsistent with" those standards. It says nothing about permits. The DEP's FAQ says DEP "does not issue permits or require authorization for the installation of synthetic turf," and sends "questions regarding local permitting" to the local government.
Tampa kept its permit: the 2026 packet says installation "is subject to applicable City policies, permitting requirements," and the state standards. Some local limits, such as Tequesta's 10% cap from December 2023, may not survive the statute on qualifying lots, but that is a question for the city, not a reason to skip the permit. See our Florida turf rules.
HOA approval is a separate track. Piney Point Village asks for your HOA's approval inside the city application, so you need both. See can my HOA ban artificial turf for the state laws on that side.
Who should pull the permit, you or the installer?
Usually the installer. Tampa says a "Business Tax License and Workers' Compensation Insurance are required to issue a permit" and the "turf installer should add their license" to the record, which is written for contractors. Clearwater lets contractors file online and the owner of a detached house file in person.
Clearwater adds a bigger reason to hire out: turf "installed by residential property owners shall be treated as impervious," while a licensed contractor's install can count as pervious if it meets the city's base and backing standards. On a lot near its coverage limit, that can decide whether the project is allowed; see turf as impervious surface and DIY vs professional installation.
Our five-trigger test
Run these against your city code before you sign a quote. Any yes means call the permit desk.
- Does the code have a turf section? Caps, buffers or specs usually come with a review.
- Is any of it in the front yard or visible from the street? Rockwall, Tequesta and Thornton all treat visible areas differently from screened backyards.
- Is any of it in the parkway, swale or an easement? That is public right-of-way; see artificial turf in the parkway.
- Does it change drainage, coverage or the ground near trees? Boynton Beach's 1,000 sq ft engineer threshold and Tampa's 20 ft tree survey come from here; our guide to cutting around trees covers root-safe work.
- Is it a replacement? Clearwater and Piney Point require a permit for that too.
This is our framework, not a regulation. Then make it a line in your quote comparison: the bid should say who pulls the permit and whether the fee is included.
When does this page stop applying?
It covers single-family homes under the documents cited above, as read in October 2026. Ogden's brochure and Tequesta's page are undated summaries; the code text controls. Tampa requires commercial permits for condos, and other building types face more review. Any city can change its permit rules at a council meeting. This is not legal advice.
Frequently asked questions
Is a turf permit the same as a right-of-way permit?
No. Clearwater's application asks whether any turf is in the right-of-way, and if so a separate right-of-way permit must be obtained before work starts. Los Angeles needs an A-permit for turf in a residential parkway even though listed plants there need none. Tampa prohibits turf in the right-of-way, swales, ditches and public easements outright, so no permit covers it there.
How much does an artificial turf permit cost?
Of the cities we read, only Clearwater printed a fee: $200 per application. Thornton collects its fee once a planner accepts the submittal. The documents often cost more: a current survey, a grading plan in Rockwall, or an engineer's drainage plan in Boynton Beach for additions over 1,000 sq ft or lots left under 40% pervious.
Do I need a permit for a small putting green or dog run?
Possibly. Clearwater exempts a single install of 100 sq ft or less in a side or rear yard. Tequesta counts putting greens inside its 10% landscape cap and sets its own size, drainage and permit rules for them. The other cities we read state no size exemption, so a small area needs the same permit as a large one.
Does Utah or Texas law stop cities from requiring a turf permit?
Not in the laws we have read. Utah's water wise landscaping statutes do not name artificial turf, and Ogden requires a Land Use Permit. Texas Property Code 202.007 governs HOAs and natural turf, not city permits, and Rockwall and Piney Point both require one. See our Utah turf rules and Texas turf rules pages.